Simon Fang

Simon Fang was born in Taipei, Taiwan. Fang graduated from Taiwan National Central University with BA degree in Physics. In 1996, Fang received MS and PhD degrees in Materials Science and Engineering from Stanford University. Fang authored more than 30 technical papers and co-authored “Handbook of Semiconductor Manufacturing Technology” (published by Marcel Dekker, 2000). In addition, Fang possesses two US patents.

After graduating from Stanford, Fang joined Texas Instruments’ Semiconductor Process and Device Center (SPDC) for advanced research on semiconductor processing technologies. In 1999, Fang joined United Microelectronic Corporation (UMC) Research & Development Division in Hsin-Chu, Taiwan. Later, Fang coordinated Customer Engineering Division. In 2002, he headed UMC’s New Business Development Division. During his tenure at NBD, Fang defined new business model and established emergent customers. Between 2000 and 2003, Fang also served as an Adjourn Professor at Yuan-Zhi University teaching semiconductor processing. In 2003, Fang was transferred to oversee UMC’s US Sales Office, which contributes over 2 billion annual revenue.

In 2006, Fang joined AsiaTech Venture as Technology Partner. Fang led AsiaTech’s investment activities in Taipei office. Asiatech is an early stage venture fund focusing on various IT segments including semiconductor, digital entertainment, and consumer electronics. Meanwhile, Fang is Chairman of Tophshine (TW.6195), a public company. Topshine is a boutique distribution company for various analogue products. Fang is currently positioned on the boards of more than ten public and private companies. Major success of his venture portfolio through including: Praesagus (acquired by CDNS), TrendChip (TW.3614), Afatech (acquired by ITE TW.3014), Initio, Lightuning Technology, Quantek, Wison, SandForce (acquired by LSI), etc.

In August 2008, Fang and Dr. Yaoting Wang co-founded Darwin Management, Inc. Currently, Darwin manages one late stage venture fund and plans to launch the first expansion stage venture fund in early 2009. Other than conventional venture fund management, Darwin also provides business and technical consulting services for local entrepreneurs.

方頌仁

方頌仁,1988年畢業於臺灣國立中央大學物理系,並在1996年於美國史丹佛大學材料系獲得碩士與博士學位。史丹佛大學畢業後,方頌仁繼續於美國德州儀器公司(Texas Instruments)研發部門從事半導體先進製造技術之開發。方頌仁於1999年返台加入聯華電子,先後在研發部門,客戶服務工程部,與新事業發展部等部門任職。2003年方頌仁擔任銷售副總,派往美國聯電負責北美業務。此外,方頌仁於2000年至2003年期間,兼任私立元智大學工業工程學系兼任助理教授。在業餘之際教授半導體工廠實務等相關課程。方頌仁曾發表30餘篇技術論文,並獲得2項美國專利。

方頌仁在2006年離開聯電參加AsiaTech創投基金。為台北辦公室合夥人。該基金專注於新創公司的早期投資,總管理基金約2億美金。主要投資項目於半導體,通訊,消費性電子及安全監控等相關產業。同時,方頌仁亦擔任旭展電子董事長(TW.6195),慧盛科技董事長及十餘家科技公司之董監事。方頌仁參與投資案,主要為Praesagus(被CDNS併購),誠致(TW.3614),詠發科技(併入TW.3014聯陽),晶量半導體(TW.3635),祥群科技,寬達科技,慧盛科技, SandForce(併入LSI Logic), 等新創公司。

方頌仁在2008年8月與王耀庭博士共同創立達盈科技管理顧問公司。本公司專注於創投基金之管理及新創事業之諮詢服務。目前已投資超過二十家新創公司。